Christopher J. Hoy Scholarship

About the Christopher J. Hoy Scholarship

The Christopher J. Hoy Scholarship is an annual scholarship consisting of $5,000 to a U.S./Canadian citizen or permanent resident who is pursuing an MLS in an ALA-accredited program.

Named for a long time ALA staff member, Chris Hoy who was director of the ALA Conference Services Office for over 20 years. This was established with donations from the Christopher J. Hoy family and the Exhibits Round Table (ERT) to honor his memory. It is still supported through a silent auction at the ALA Annual Conference each June.

Past recipients include:

Maria Guadalupe Partida2022 - Winner
Patricia Concepcion2021 - Winner
Amanda Toledo2020 - Recipient
Mackenzie Schley2019 - Winner
Samantha Hyde2018 - Recipient
Olivia Rose Muzzy2017 - Recipient
Whitney J. Nelsen2016 - Recipient
Eliza Bettinger2015 - Recipient
Angela Price2014 - Winner
Antoinette Rose Solis Mendieta2013 - Winner
Lora Warden2012 - Recipient
Lori Kristen Neumeier2011 - Recipient
Holly Michelle Byers2010 - Recipient
Jade Torres-Morrison2009 - Winner
Kathryn Ruth Pettegrew2008 - Winner
Chelsea Couillard2007 - Winner
Audra Eagle2006 - Winner
Robin White2005 - Winner
Angelica Guerrero2004 - Winner
Jill Pitts2003 - Winner
Christopher S. Walter2002 - Winner
Dawn M. Thornton2001 - Winner
Melissa H. Gotsch2001 - Winner
Ryan Max Steinberg2000 - Winner
Denise I. Matulka2000 - Winner
Janet E. Birsch Kenney2000 - Winner
Angela M. Falsey2000 - Winner
May K. Dea2000 - Winner
Holly Wissink1999 - Winner
Paul Keith1998 - Winner
Marianne A. Buehler1997 - Winner

Award and Frequency

Annual scholarship of $5,000.
This award is given out on an annual basis.


  • U.S. or Canadian Citizen or Permanent Resident.
  • Attend ALA accredited Master's Program.
  • No more than 12 semester hours towards MLS/MLIS/MIS prior to June 1 of year awarded.
  • Personal Statement.

Applicant Responsibility

Attend ALA accredited Master's Program.

Application Instructions

Apply online at

Contact Information

Kimberly L. Redd (Staff Liaison, July 1, 2009, to June 30, 2024) - [email protected]
Work Phone: (312) 280-4279
Fax: (312) 280-3256
American Library Association
225 N Michigan Ave Ste 1300
Chicago, IL 60601-7616